2018 Filing period closed — Filing closes, candidates lined up

Filing closed at noon Wednesday for many political races in the 2018 election cycle, and a number of incumbents and newcomers have opted to run for offices. The final list of names has been released for those who have filed during the February filing period, which sets up primaries in some races for May 8.

For the Fifth Congressional District of the United States House of Representatives, Democrat Jenny Marshall of Winston-Salem will face D.D. Adams of Winston-Salem in the primary.

On the Republican ticket for the Fifth District, incumbent Virginia Foxx of Banner Elk is being challenged for the Republican ticket by Cortland J. Meader Jr. of Mocksville and Dillon Gentry of Banner Elk.

For NC Senate District 30, which now includes eastern Surry County along with Stokes, Rockingham and Caswell counties, Republican Phil Berger of Eden, who is an incumbent in the new district having served District 26 prior to the redrawing of the district maps, filed for the election. He will be challenged in November by R. Michael Jordan of Eden, a Libertarian, and Jen Mangrum of Reidsville, a Democrat.

In the new NC Senate District 34, which includes Yadkin and Iredell counties with no incumbent, four Republicans will face off in a primary. Candidates are Vickie Sawyer of Mooresville, A.J. Daoud of East Bend, William (Bill) Howell of Statesville and Robert (Bob) Rucho of Mooresville.

A Democratic primary for the District 34 race includes Lisaney Kong of Mooresville, Beniah McMiller of Statesville and William Stinson of Boonville.

For District 45 of the North Carolina Senate, Republicans Shirley Blackburn Randleman of Wilkesboro and Deanna Ballard of Blowing Rock will be in a primary. Both are incumbents already serving in the House, with Ballard having served District 45 and Randleman serving District 30, which no longer includes Wilkes and western Surry County.

In the Democrat side of the District 45 race, Brandon Anderson of Millers Creek filed for office to challenge the Republican primary winner in November.

For the N.C. House of Representatives District 73, which includes Yadkin County, incumbent Lee Zachary, a Republican, will face challenger Aaron Paul Cave of Jonesville, a Democrat, in November.

For District 90, which includes central and western Surry County, Alleghany and northern Wilkes, incumbent Sarah Stevens of Mount Airy, a Republican, will face a challenger in Allen Poindexter of Mount Airy in a primary.

John Worth Wiles of Elkin, a Democrat, will challenge the winner of the primary in the November election for District 90.

For District 91, which includes eastern Surry, Stokes and a small area in Rockingham, incumbent Kyle Hall, a Republican, will face a November challenge from Steve Brenneis of Westfield, a Libertarian, and Michael Booth of King, a Democrat.

For District 94, which includes the central and southern portions of Wilkes and Alexander County, incumbent Jeffrey Elmore, a Republican, will face a November challenge from Democrat Dianne Little of Taylorsville.

Surry County

Three candidates have filed for Elkin City Schools Board of Education seats, which have a filing period open from now into August. Incumbent Frank Beals, who holds the west district seat, filed for reelection.

With two seats on the ballot for the city district of Elkin City Schools, incumbent Jane Riley and newcomers Will Ballard, Ralph Beshears Jr. and Matthew Shrum filed their intent to run.

For Surry County Schools Board of Education, the May primary is the board’s general election for the nonpartisan seats. For District 2, in the Pilot Mountain area, incumbent Mamie McKinney Sutphin will face R.D. Bingam. In District 3, incumbent Earlie Coe is unopposed, as is Terri Mosley in District 4.

For Surry County Board of Commissioners Mount Airy district, incumbent Larry Phillips, a Republican, will face Bill Goins in the primary. No Democrat filed.

Surry County Commissioner Central district will see a primary as four Republicans are running for the seat vacated early by R.F. “Buck” Golding Feb. 19 Tony Childs of Mount Airy, Tony R. Tilley of Ararat and Mark A. .Marion and Gary Carson Tilley, both of Dobson, are in a May primary. No Democrat filed for the post.

In addition, incumbent Eddie Harris of State Road, a Republican, will face a November challenge for the South district seat. On the Democratic ticket, Karen Osburn-Chandler of Thurmond joined the race.

Four candidates are running for Surry County Clerk of Superior Court, setting up two primaries in May. Incumbent Teresa O’Dell of Mount Airy faces L. Neil Brendle of Dobson in a Republican primary. Democrats Kim Goings Thomas and John Snow, both of Dobson, are in a primary.

For Surry County sheriff, Republicans in a May primary include Jamie Goad of Mount Airy, Ervin Odum of Dobson, Vann Tate of Toast and Steve Hiatt of Mount Airy.

Incumbent Jimmy Combs, a Democrat, will face the Republican winner in November.

For Judicial District 17B, Surry and Stokes counties, district attorney seat, incumbent Republican Ricky Bowman is running unopposed.

Wilkes County

In Wilkes County, seven candidates are running for two available seats on the Wilkes County Board of Commissioners. Candidates include newcomers Brian Minton of Wilkesboro, Rodney Buff of Hays, Seth Cohn of North Wilkesboro, Robert L. Wood of Traphill and incumbents Gregory Minton of Wilkesboro and David Gambill of North Wilkesboro, all Republicans, and Democrat L.B. Prevette of Wilkesboro, a newcomer.

Regina Billings of Hays, a Republican, is unopposed for the seat of clerk of Superior Court for Wilkes County.

On the Republican ticket for Wilkes County sheriff, incumbent Chris Shew of Wilkesboro will face newcomers Eric L. Byrd of Moravian Falls and Sharon Call-Diaz of Millers Creek in a primary. No Democrat filed.

Running for two available Wilkes County Board of Education seats are incumbents Randall (Rudy) Holbrook of Elkin and Sharron Nichols Huffman of Wilkesboro, and Brandon Whitaker of Elkin and Steve Collins of Wilkesboro.

For Judicial District 34, which includes Wilkes and Yadkin counties, district attorney seat, incumbent Republican Tom Horner is running unopposed.

Yadkin County

For Yadkin County Board of Commissioners, incumbents Gilbert Hemric of Hamptonville, Marion Welborn of Boonville and Frank Zachary of Yadkinville, all Republicans, are unopposed.

Also, unopposed are Beth Williams Holcomb of East Bend for clerk of Superior Court; Aric Wilhelm of Yadkinville for register of deeds; Ricky Oliver of Yadkinville for sheriff; and James (Slim) Collins of Yadkinville for coroner. All are Republicans.

For Yadkin County Board of Education, five candidates are running for three nonpartisan seats on the board. Candidates are newcomers Tom Kilby and Charlie Haire and incumbents Tim Weatherman, Sam Crews and Howard McKnight.

Wendy Byerly Wood may be reached at 336-258-4035 or on Twitter @wendywoodeditor.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.